Governance and Company Information

What do Governors at Leventhorpe Do?

Governors of any school have 3 core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its students and the performance management of Staff.
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Contacting Governors

If you need to contact the governing body including the Chair of Governors, please email the clerk, Mrs Tracy Wilson, at

What is the function of Link Governors at Leventhorpe?

Each member of the governing body has one or more areas of speciality and are responsible for knowing that area of the school’s work in-depth and then reporting back to the relevant committee or to the whole governing body if relevant. In particular, link governors:

  • Organise and lead link meetings with relevant members of senior staff.
  • Feedback to committee meetings and/or provide minutes of link meeting to Clerk/Chair of Committee.
  • Investigate and keep current with the latest legislation/code or guidance relating to link area.
  • Monitor impact of School Growth Plans/actions relating to link area.
  • Question/Discuss/Debate link area issues with other GB Committee members and school SLT link staff. Bring decisions to GB Committee where appropriate.
  • Understand (and utilise where appropriate) body of evidence from school for improvements or developments relating to link area.
  • Understand and utilise opinions and feedback from key stakeholders (staff, students, parents, community) relating to link area.
  • Take up training opportunities (available to Governors) for link area where appropriate and affordable.

Leventhorpe School is operated by Rivers Multi Academy Trust Company No. 07697367 Registered in England and Wales

Governing Body Policies

Copies of governing body policies are available to parents on request to the Clerk to the Governing Body, care of the School.

Membership of Committees and Link Responsibilities

Chair of Governors: Siobhan Chester

Vice Chair: Alfred Church

Clerk to Governors: Tracy Wilson

Resource Audit Committee:

Committee Chair: Nick Parry

Deputy: Robert Nunn

GOVERNOR Roles / Links / Areas of Responsibility

David Alexander

Alumni, Communications, Community, Stakeholder Engagement
Robert Nunn Finance
Ria Weller HR & Staff Welfare, Safeguarding (Emp), Succession Planning
Brian Engwell Premises, Site, Capital Development, 
Health and Safety
Ian Little Fundraising, Lettings & Additional Income
Nick Parry ICT


School Improvement & Student Welfare:

Committee Chair: Emma Bill

Deputy: Maureen Bray

GOVENOR Roles / Links / Areas of Responsibility
Maureen Bray Safeguarding, CLA
Lucy Johnson  SEN, PP
Ololade Sanusi Careers, DEI, ITT and ECT
Alfred Church Sixth Form, Student Welfare (including Wellbeing & Student Voice), Admissions
Emma Bill Data Analysis, Results, Assessment and Reporting, DPO, Communications, Community, Stakeholder Engagement, PTFA
Jane Burchfield Curriculum, Teaching & Learning, CPD, Literacy
Peter Westbrook Attendance, Rewards and Celebrations, Behaviour & Student Discipline


Governor Link Roles


Page Downloads Date  
Governance Schemes of Delegation 27th Sep 2022 Download
Leventhorpe Growth Plan 2022 2025 28th Nov 2022 Download
Governor Attendance 2022 2023 11th Sep 2023 Download
Governing Body Dates for Meetings 2023 24 05th Sep 2023 Download
Trustees Govs and Members Pecuniary Business Interests 2023 2024 15th Feb 2024 Download